Zum Inhalt springen

Warenkorb

Dein Warenkorb ist leer

Über uns


Internationale Gesellschaft der Gutachter Sue McGovern-Huffman, Präsidentin von Sands of Time Antiquities, ist eine unabhängige Gutachterin, Kunsthändlerin, Dozentin, Autorin und Beraterin, spezialisiert auf antike Kulturen. Sue arbeitet mit Museen, Sammlern, Händlern, Gutachtern und der Rechtsgemeinschaft bei der Authentifizierung und Bewertung griechischer, römischer, ägyptischer und des Heiligen Landes stammender Antiquitäten zusammen. Während ihr anfängliches Interesse an antiker Kunst als Privatsammlerin galt, lag ihr beruflicher Schwerpunkt auf der Gestaltung, Umsetzung und Verwaltung von Informationstechnologiestrategien in Regierungs-, Rechts- und Unternehmensumgebungen.


Sue wurde in Sydney, Australien, geboren und begann ihre Karriere 1992 als professionelle Antiquitätenhändlerin. Sie eröffnete in Sydney eine Einzelhandelsgalerie, Sands of Time Antiquities, in der sie Antiquitäten auf professionellem Niveau kaufte und verkaufte, während sie neue Sammler beriet und mit ausgewählten zusammenarbeitete Kunden zur Erweiterung bestehender Sammlungen. Als Sue 1998 mit ihrem amerikanischen Ehemann in die USA zog, kombinierte sie ihre Kenntnisse im Bereich Informationstechnologie mit ihrer Begeisterung für antike Kunst, indem sie ein webbasiertes Dot.com-Unternehmen gründete, das Antiquitäten über das Internet anbot. Im Juni 2000 war Sue eine der ersten Experten, die antike Kunst über die renommierte Website Sothebys.com verkaufte, eine neu eingerichtete Online-Auktionseinrichtung im Internet.


Im Jahr 2001 eröffnete Sue die Galerie „Sands of Time Antiquities“ in Houston, Texas, und als die Familie 2004 nach Washington D.C. zog, verlegte Sue die Galerie in das historische Viertel von Georgetown. Die Galerie „Sands of Time“ bietet eine große Auswahl an Objekten in jeder Preisklasse aus der Zeit zwischen 4000 v. Chr. und dem 8. Jahrhundert n. Chr. Geografisch stammen sie aus Ägypten, dem Nahen Osten und Europa und umfassen Objekte aus Marmor, Bronze, Glas, Gold, Keramik und Stein. Sands of Time produziert vollständig illustrierte Broschüren mit hochwertiger antiker Kunst und vertritt eine internationale Kundschaft bei vielen der großen Auktionen auf der ganzen Welt.

Wer eine Leidenschaft für alles hat, von römischen Gladiatoren bis hin zu ägyptischen Königen, wird in der Galerie mit Sicherheit etwas Interessantes finden. Restaurierungs-, Bewertungs- und professionelle Beratungsdienste stehen auch Amateur- und ernsthaften Sammlern, Händlern, Wissenschaftlern und Museen weltweit zur Verfügung.

Sues umfassende Markterfahrung umfasst Reisen zu nationalen und internationalen Märkten sowie die regelmäßige Teilnahme an den führenden Antiquitätenauktionen in New York, London und Kontinentaleuropa.

Ihr Kontakt mit dem internationalen Markt wird durch die Interaktion auf internationalen Kunstmessen wie der BAAF in Basel (Schweiz) und der BAAF in Brüssel (Belgien) kontinuierlich gestärkt. Neben der Teilnahme an Auktionen und Sonderausstellungen leistet Sue außerdem aktive Gutachtertätigkeit und ist Vorstandsmitglied und zertifiziertes Mitglied (CAPP) der International Society of Appraisers (ISA), einer internationalen multidisziplinären Zertifizierungs- und Akkreditierungsorganisation. CAPP ist die höchste Errungenschaft und Zertifizierungsstufe in der Branche der persönlichen Immobilienbewertung und steht für fortgeschrittene Bewertungsmethodik, Fachwissen und berufliche Entwicklung. Jede Beurteilung wird von Sue persönlich vorbereitet, um sicherzustellen, dass die Arbeit den ethischen und professionellen Richtlinien der Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) der Appraisal Foundation, den IRS-Vorschriften und den hohen Standards der ISA entspricht.


Sue ist ein angesehenes Mitglied der folgenden Organisationen:

  • International Society of Appraisers (Vorstandsmitglied)
  • American Research Center in Egypt (emeritierter Präsident, DC Chapter)
  • Archäologisches Institut von Amerika
  • Antike Münzsammlergilde (Direktor)
  • Die American Numismatic Society
  • Verband der Händler und Sammler antiker und ethnografischer Kunst (Präsident)

About Us


International Society of AppraisersSue McGovern-Huffman, President of Sands of Time Antiquities, is an independent appraiser, art dealer, lecturer, writer and consultant, specializing in ancient cultures. Sue works with museums, collectors, dealers, appraisers, and the legal community in authenticating and appraising Greek, Roman, Egyptian, and Holy Land antiquities. While her initial interest in ancient art was as a private collector, her professional focus was design, implementation and management of information technology strategies in government, legal and corporate environments.

 


 

Born in Sydney, Australia, Sue began her career as a professional dealer in antiquities in 1992. She opened a retail gallery, Sands of Time Antiquities, in Sydney buying and selling antiquities on a professional level while providing guidance to new collectors and working with select clients to enhance existing collections. Upon relocating with her American husband to the USA in 1998, Sue combined her information technology skills with her enthusiasm for ancient art by establishing a web-based dot.com company offering antiquities via the internet. In June 2000, Sue was one of the first experts to sell ancient art through the prestigious Sothebys.com site, a newly established on-line Internet auction facility.


 

In 2001, Sue opened the Sands of Time Antiquities gallery in Houston, TX and when the family moved to Washington DC in 2004, Sue relocated the gallery to the historic district of Georgetown. The Sands of Time gallery stocks a wide variety of objects in every price range, that date from between 4000BC to the 8th century AD. Geographically, they originate from Egypt, the Near East and Europe and include objects fashioned from marble, bronze, glass, gold, pottery and stone. Sands of Time produces fully illustrated brochures featuring fine quality ancient art and represents an international clientele at many of the major auctions throughout the world.

Those with a passion for anything from Roman gladiators to Egyptian kings are sure to find something of interest at the gallery. Restoration, appraisal, and professional consulting services are also available to amateur and serious collectors, dealers, scholars and museums worldwide.

Sue’s extensive market-related experience includes travel to domestic and international markets and regular attendance of the leading antiquity auctions in New York, London and continental Europe. 

Her contact with the international market is continually reinforced by the interaction that takes place at the international Art Fairs such as, BAAF in Basel (Switzerland) and BAAF in Brussels (Belgium). In addition to attending auction and special show offerings, Sue further provides active appraisal work and is an Executive Board and a certified member (CAPP) of the International Society of Appraisers (ISA), an international multi-disciplinary certifying and accrediting organization.  CAPP is the highest achievement and level of credentialing in the industry of personal property appraising, signifying advanced appraisal methodology, expertise and professional development.  Every appraisal is personally prepared by Sue to ensure that the work adheres to the ethical and professional guidelines of the Appraisal Foundation’s Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP), IRS regulations and the high standards of the ISA. 


 

Sue is a member of good standing with the following organizations:

  • International Society of Appraisers (Executive Board Member)
  • American Research Center in Egypt (President emeritus, DC Chapter)
  • Archaeological Institute of America
  • Ancient Coin Collectors Guild (Director)
  • The American Numismatic Society
  • Association of Dealers & Collectors of Ancient & Ethnographic Art (President)

Appraisers

play a crucial role in providing reliable, objective assessments of the value of high dollar items, which are essential for various purposes including insurance, estate planning, or buying and selling. Engaging an appraiser may provide peace of mind that these valuable and often irreplaceable possessions could be adequately protected. That is a key reason to reach out to Sands of Time.

Don't take our word for it

★★★★★

Clearly the best of 6 - 7 appraisals I've had done by other appraisers over the years

C. W.

Washington, DC

★★★★★

 I have always felt that you are a trustworthy and quality person.  My tax attorney was very impressed with your appraisal document.  

DL

North Carolina

★★★★★

Your product is the most professional appraisal I have ever had the pleasure of reading.  THANK YOU.

NP

Georgia

★★★★★

Thanks not only for incorporating our feedback, but for going above and beyond to make the valuation process crystal clear and really do a great job with the narrative. I'm thrilled!

JB

Washington, DC